Nelson Big Horn Sheep

Well, after countless trips to the mountains, and who knows how many hours of looking at the hillsides for the elusive Big Horn Sheep, I finally found a small heard. I was able to spot 4 in Mount baldy this evening, though I was only able to get 3 in photo together. I have posted 2 shots on Flickr already and will be working on a few more. My telephoto is not the best, but now that I know where they are I am going to keep an eye on that area and try for some better pics, and if I can spot them, then i will consider renting a better lens to see what I can get.

If you want to see more about the sheep, here is a link to the wikipedia page

4 Responses to “Nelson Big Horn Sheep”

  1. Congrats on the pics.
    I have been looking for the same and I know they are hard to find.
    Wondering what lens you were shooting?
    and if I may ask, about where did you locate these sheep?

    Ron

  2. Thanks, I have been able to find them 2 more times since then, one of which was yesterday evening, and last week I was able to get much closer so I should have some better photos in the next day or 2. Those were shot on a beat up Canon 10d with a Sigma 70-300 4.5-5.6 lens. This heard is 5 strong and hangs out near the Buckhorn Lodge in Mt. Baldy. I would be more then happy to meet you up there sometime, I live right at the base of the Mt.

  3. I was up in Icehouse Canyon/Cedar Glen yesterday, didn’t look promising to spot sheep there.

  4. My latest post has some new photos, and much better photos of the Sheep

    https://crismateski.wordpress.com/2009/04/03/nelson-big-horn-sheep-photos/

Leave a Reply

